Winners announced in art competition

The office of U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard hosted an awards ceremony on May 12 in coordination with the Hawai’i Art Education Association and Youth Art Month, where the winning pieces of the 2019 Kaha Ki’i 2nd Congressional District Art Competition were announced and the high school artists who created them were honored.

Winners from Maui County:

• Second Place: Heather Osterstock, Baldwin High School, “Kou” (mixed media).

• Third Place: Taryn Sato, Baldwin High School, “Jacsen” (mixed media).

Finalists from Maui County:

• Sophia Gallegos, Seabury Hall.

• Sharnelle Kaili, Molokai High School.

• Sera Kim, Seabury Hall.

The winning pieces of art will be showcased at the U.S. Capitol, in Gabbard’s Washington, D.C., and Hawaii offices, and online.

More than 100 artists submitted entries.

Judges narrowed the field to 16 finalists.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)