Teacher first recipient of award

Ernest Mendoza of Maui’s St. Anthony School (from left), Mike Rockers of Hawaii Catholic Schools and Dale Fryxell of Chaminade University of Honolulu are shown at the inaugural presentation of the Hawaii Catholic Schools Teacher of the Year award, The Golden Pineapple. Mendoza is the first recipient of the honor that recognizes excellence in teaching within the Catholic schools in the state of Hawaii. The award is made possible by the support of John C. and Mary Lou Brogan and Chaminade University.