Rotary clubs award $5,000 in scholarships to students

Front row from left: Jaimelee Felipe (Kamehameha Schools Maui), Katebel Jose (King Kekaulike High School), Nida Bergoust (Maui High School). Back row from left: Alana Battad (Seabury Hall), Josh Ooka (Baldwin High School), Adam Purdy (Lanai High School), Briana Bandy (Lahainaluna High School). Not Pictured: Evelyn Haase (Molokai High School), Jade Torgerson (Kihei Charter High School), Alejandro Prieto Alvarez (Maui Preparatory Academy). -- JOANNE LAIRD photo

The 10 Rotary clubs on Maui and Lanai recently held a celebratory luncheon for 10 students who each were awarded $5,000 Hawaii Rotary Youth Scholarships for future college expenses.

The event was held at The Class Act Restaurant at UH-Maui College. Seven of the 10 attended with a parent and a representative from eight of the 10 Rotary clubs; each student shared their plans for college.

The scholarship winners, their high school and where they plan to attend follow:

• Josh Ooka, Baldwin High School, UCLA.

• Evelyn Haase, Molokai High School, Reed College.

• Jaimelee Felipe, Kamehameha Schools Maui, Davidson College.

• Jade Torgerson, Kihei Charter High School, Colorado State University.

• Katebel Jose, King Kekaulike High School, University of Oregon.

• Brianna Bandy, Lahainaluna High School, Arizona State University.

• Adam Purdy, Lanai High School, Minot State University.

• Nida Bergoust, Maui High School, Boise State University.

• Alejandro Prieto Alvarez, Maui Preparatory Academy, Hawaii Pacific University.

• Alana Battad, Seabury Hall, University of San Francisco.

The Hawaii Rotary Youth Foundation Scholarship Foundation is one of the many youth service projects sponsored by the 51 Rotary clubs in Hawaii. Rotary is a leadership organization made up of professional and civic leaders, local businesses.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)