Local Briefs

3 nominees to U.S. service academies

U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii) announced the names of 33 students nominated to attend one of the nation’s service academies. Three of the nominees are from Maui County:

• Jamahl Adams, Lanai City, Lanai High School — United States Military Academy.

• Michael Kalalau, Kahului, Kamehameha Schools-Maui/UH — United States Naval Academy.

• Kai Preseault, Kula, Seabury Hall — United States Naval Academy.

Applicants were considered based on their ability to successfully meet the rigorous demands for the undergraduate education and training of officers of the United States Armed Forces, as well as their demonstrated leadership skills through athletics and other organizations, and an overall commitment to the military, the community, and our country. Nominees will now be considered for appointment by the U.S. service academies.


Scholarship golf event postponed

The Maui Filipino Chamber of Commerce Foundation annual Scholarship Golf Tournament scheduled for March 28 has been postponed to July 11.


3 students place first in competition

King Kekaulike High School students Sean McCormick, Leilah Eusebio and Aleth Sabugo placed first in Level B of the 17th Japan Wizards Statewide Academic Team Competition Feb. 29 at Kapiolani Community College. They were awarded a trip to Japan in fall 2020. The Japan-America Society of Hawaii hosted the event for 110 students from 19 public and private high schools in Level A (Japanese 1-2) and Level B (Japanese 3-4).


4 Maui candidates for scholarship

The United States Department of Education has announced candidates for the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholarship Program. Candidates are selected by invitation only by the U.S. DOE. There are four candidates from Maui County:

Sean H. Janneck, Seabury Hall; William P. Kepler, Kihei Charter School; Ava Merrill, Maui Preparatory Academy; and Ameera C. Waterford, Seabury Hall.

Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors.


Fundraiser to be rescheduled

The Friends of Gil Keith-Agaran’s fundraiser scheduled for Tuesday at Maui Waena Intermediate School has been postponed to a date that is yet to be determined.


4 residents to join HPR advisory board

Four Maui County residents have been selected by Hawaii Public Radio to join its Community Advisory Board class of 2022:

Bettina Ackermann, Kula; Robin Kaye, Lanai City; John Lunn, Ho’olehua, Molokai; and Peter Merriman, Lahaina, are among 10 new members selected from more than 80 nominations solicited through the station’s communications and airwaves.

The Community Advisory Board is an adjunct to HPR’s Board of Directors and provides feedback to HPR management on station programming and community outreach opportunities.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)