Maui Pops Orchestra presents 3 scholarships to young musicians

Two Baldwin and one Lahainaluna high senior were awarded the Auriol Flavell Student Scholarship Awards for Young Musicians by the Maui Pops Orchestra.

The winners are:

• Marielle Ellorin, a percussionist with the Maui Pops Orchestra, Maui Chamber Orchestra, Maui Youth Philharmonic and a graduating senior from Baldwin High. She also studies piano and was awarded $2,000.

• Brianna Burgos, a vocalist and trumpet player and graduating senior from Lahainaluna. She plays in all of her school’s music ensembles and is a Maui District Honor Band and Maui Community Band member. She received $500.

• Heather Osterstock, a flutist and graduating senior from Baldwin. She has served as principal flutist and drum major with the Bear Pride Marching Band and has been a part of the Maui District Honor Band. She received $500.

The scholarship checks were awarded at the orchestra’s March 8 Spring Pops concert at the Maui Arts & Cultural Center.

Since 2014, the orchestra has awarded $21,000 in scholarship funds to Maui youth. These awards are intended for students who are pursuing higher education in the field of music, who play a symphony orchestra instrument and who plan to promote community orchestras.

Auriol Flavell was an ardent supporter of the performing arts, especially talented youths, the orchestra news release said. Donations to the scholarship fund may be made payable to Maui Pops Orchestra and mailed to 95 Mahalani St., Room 6, Wailuku 96793 or sent online at www.mauipops.org.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)