3 Maui students among 20 scholarship winners

Hawaii State Federal Credit Union announced the 20 recipients of its Lowell Kalapa Scholarship program who will share a combined total of $100,000 in scholarships, a $20,000 increase over 2019. Each student was awarded $5,000. Scholarship recipients on Maui include:

• Cheysen Cabuyadao-Sipe. Attends Whitman College. Graduated from Kamehameha Schools Maui.

• Tatiana Soon. Attends UC Davis. Graduated from Kamehameha Schools Maui.

• Kamryn Vinoray. Attends Johnson & Wales University, Providence. Graduated from Maui High School.

“As many in our community are currently facing financial hardship, we’re proud to have been able to increase our scholarship funding from $80,000 to $100,000 in 2020,” said Andrew Rosen, president and CEO of Hawaii State FCU. “Hawaii State FCU has been investing in education for more than 20 years through the Lowell Kalapa Scholarship program, awarding nearly $800,000 in support of students pursuing their higher-education goals. We will continue to invest in education because we are committed to helping Hawaii’s keiki succeed.”

The scholarship recipients were selected based on financial need, academic merit and extracurricular activities. This year, four recipients are incoming freshmen, five are attending graduate school, and the remaining 11 are returning undergraduates.

The Lowell Kalapa Scholarship Program honors the late Lowell Kalapa, former president of the Tax Foundation of Hawaii and former Hawaii State FCU board member.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)