Democrats submit nominations for 8th District seat

Troy Hashimoto

Former Maui County Democratic Party Chairman Troy Hashimoto, former Maui County Council Member Dain Kane and attorney Joe Wildman were selected Saturday as finalists to fill the state House seat of former Speaker Joe Souki.

Their names were transmitted to Gov. David Ige, who will make the appointment.

Souki, 86, of Wailuku resigned his District 8 set in late March as part of a settlement of sexual harassment charges brought against him before the Hawaii Ethics Commission. He paid a $5,000 fine, issued a public apology in a letter to House Speaker Scott Saiki and is barred from seeking public office for at least two years.

Hashimoto, Kane and Wildman were chosen by the 21-member Democratic Party District 8 Council, which heard from eight candidates for the position. Each District 8 Council member was allowed three votes.

Hashimoto is executive assistant to Maui County Council Chairman Mike White.

Dain Kane

Hashimoto previously served as Maui County Democratic Party chairman for four years. He is chairman of the board of directors of Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows Program, which offers leadership training for young people on Maui.

Kane was elected to the Maui County Council in 1998 and held the Wailuku-Waihee-Waikapu residency seat for four terms until 2006. He again was a candidate for the seat in 2016, losing in the general election to Alika Atay.

Wildman is a personal injury attorney in the Wailuku law firm of Takitani, Agaran & Jorgensen.

In 2011, then-Gov. Neil Abercrombie nominated Wildman to be a 2nd Circuit Court judge. Wildman later withdrew as a nominee, citing an “unresolved situation” with his former Honolulu law firm.

Ige previously said he expects to name a replacement to fill the House seat within days of receiving the party’s nominations.

Joe Wildman


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper?


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today