Maui senators retain leadership positions

Maui County state senators have retained their leadership positions in the upcoming legislative session, with Gil Keith-Agaran serving as vice chairman of the Senate’s money committee, J. Kalani English as majority leader and Roz Baker as chairwoman of the Commerce, Consumer Protection and Health Committee.

The committee and leadership appointments for the session that begins Jan. 16 were announced Friday.

Kauai Sen. Ronald Kouchi remains Senate president. Keith-Agaran will serve as assistant majority whip in Kouchi’s leadership team.

Keith-Agaran will be vice chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, which will be chaired by Oahu Sen. Donovan Dela Cruz. English also will be on the committee.

Keith-Agaran, who represents Kahului, Wailuku and Waihee, also will be vice chairman of the Water and Land Committee and serve as a member of the Higher Education Committee.

English, who represents East Maui, Molokai and Lanai, will be vice chairman of the Technology Committee and a member of the Transportation Committee.

Baker, who represents South and West Maui, will be a member of the Government Operations and the Public Safety, Intergovernmental and Military Affairs committees.