Applicants sought for boards, commissions

People interested in serving on a board may apply online

The Maui News

Applicants are being sought for 40 vacancies on Maui County boards, commissions, councils and committees, including two each on the Maui Planning Commission, Liquor Control Commission and Police Commission.

Candidates also are being sought for five openings on the Urban Design Review Board; three each on the Maui County Arborist Committee and the Maui County Cultural Resources Commission; two each on the Board of Ethics, Board of Variances and Appeals, Commission on Persons with Disabilities, Council on Aging, Fire and Public Safety Commission, Hana Advisory Committee, Kula Agricultural Park Committee, Lanai Planning Commission, Salary Commission and Liquor Control Adjudication Board; and one each for the Affirmative Action Advisory Council, Civil Service Commission, Commission on Children and Youth, Maui Redevelopment Agency and Real Property Tax Review Board.

The application deadline is Nov. 15.

Submissions are kept on file for at least two years, and applicants are considered for nomination when there are openings for positions they are suited for based on their experience and interests. Openings occur when there are term expirations, vacancies and resignations on boards, commissions and committees.

Responsibilities include hearing public testimony and reviewing policies and standards. Panel members make recommendations and decisions that impact Maui County. Positions are appointed by the mayor, confirmed by the Maui County Council and have terms lasting two to five years.

This is a voluntary position, though members are reimbursed for allowable travel expenses.

People interested in serving on a board or commission should apply online at www.mauicounty.gov/Boards. Paper applications are available at the county building in the Mayor’s Office on the ninth floor and in the information booth in the main lobby; at Council Services offices on Molokai and Lanai and in Hana; and at all Parks and Recreation Permit offices (Wailuku, Makawao, Lahaina, Kihei, Hana, Kaunakakai and Lanai City).

Paper applications should be mailed to: Mayor Michael Victorino, County of Maui, 200 S. High St., Ninth Floor, Wailuku 96793, or faxed to 270-7870.

For more information, call 270-8211.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)