Five Maui County educators earn top certification

The Maui News

Five Maui County teachers are being honored for obtaining the highest certification in the field of education.

The state Department of Education said Wednesday that 54 teachers statewide have earned or renewed their National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification — a recognition for meeting the highest standards for teaching.

The five teachers in Maui County are: Loren Ayresman, King Kekaulike High; Joyce Haase, Kaunakakai Elementary; Nicole Heinlein, Iao Intermediate; John Kluesner, Baldwin High; and Christine Williams, Hana High and Elementary.

They will be recognized during a ceremony at 4:30 p.m. Friday at the Kamehameha Schools Maui campus, in the Keopuolani Hale.

To earn or retain this certification, educators must be up to date with the latest strategies and best practices in education, the DOE said. The rigorous process can take anywhere between one to three years and involves applicants submitting a comprehensive portfolio. The renewal process is just as demanding, requiring teachers to demonstrate professional growth.

Hawaii consistently ranks among the top states in the nation in terms of percentage of National Board Certified Teachers, and boasts one of the fastest growing populations of these teachers. There are currently 426 DOE teachers who have earned this certification.