Maui Pono Network puts out its candidate endorsements

The Maui News

The Maui Pono Network, a grassroots organization that has connections to the successful anti-GMO ballot measure in 2014, announced its list of candidate endorsements for the state Legislature and County Council.

The Pono Network, a registered political action committee, is focused on transition from a plantation framework and beneficial uses of large tracts of land and water distribution. Its goal is to remove government representatives who serve big money offshore interests to eliminate major blocks to affordable housing, raising the minimum wage, sustainable development, producing abundant nutritious food, and reclaiming and restoring the land.

The Maui Pono Network endorses:

• Council Kahului. Carol Lee Kamekona.

• Council Makawao-Haiku-Paia. Aja Eyre.

• Council Lanai. Gabe Johnson.

• Council West Maui. Tamara Paltin.

• Council South Maui. Kelly King.

• Council East Maui. Shane Sinenci.

• Council Molokai. Keani Rawlins-Fernandez.

• State House District 8. Ka’apuni Aiowhi.

• State House District 10. Angus McKelvey.

• State House District 11. Tina Wildberger.

• State House District 12. Simon Russell.

• State House District 13. Walter Ritte.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper?


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today