Driver’s manual now in more languages

The Hawaii state driver’s manual is now available in 13 languages other than English, the state Department of Transportation announced Wednesday.

Available languages include Hawaiian, Spanish, Marshallese, Chuukese, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese, Samoan, Tongan, Vietnamese, Tagalog and Ilocano.

The work of translating the driver’s manual from English to the 13 languages builds on the DOT’s efforts to increase equity and improve access to the driver licensing process in Hawaii, the department said. Driver’s license tests are already available in all of those languages, and translation of the driver’s manual in full will help people whose first language is not English in understanding the rules and requirements of driving on Hawaii’s roadways, the department added.

Digital copies of the translated manuals can be found at hidot.hawaii.gov/highways/library/motor-vehicle-safety-office/.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper?


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today