Maui Cobras win pair of titles at HYSA Presidents Day Cup

Nico Valenzuela of the Maui Cobras ’09 boys team heads the ball during a match at the HYSA Presidents Day Cup last weekend on Oahu. Jennifer Valenzuela photo

The Maui News

The Maui Cobras ’07 boys and ’09 boys teams won their division championships at the HYSA Presidents Day Cup on Monday at Waipio Peninsula Soccer Complex on Oahu.

The Cobras’ ’07 boys went 2-0-1 in U11 Premier pool play to win their group, defeating the Kailua Kings 4-0 and Hawaii Slammers 7-1, and tying Rush Big Island 3-3. They then defeated the HSC Bulls 6-0 in the quarterfinals, Pipeline Soccer 1-0 in the semifinals and Oahu United 1-0 in the championship match — the winning goal came from Lorenzo Gonzalez in the final minute of play.

Members of the Maui Cobras ’07 team are Gonzalez, Dace Valenzuela, Ivan Ventura, James Notarangelo, Joaquin Tavares, Jorden Carbonell, Kakahi Kapua’ala, Noah Arcas, L. Niuhi Howard, Titus Joaquin, Travis Henry, Zion Mock and Zion Schaffer. The head coach is Brian Ventura and assistants are Iggy Arcas and Eli Joaquin.

Competing in the U9 Premier division, the Cobras’ ’09 boys went 4-0-0 to win the title. The Cobras defeated Maui United 6-1, FC Hawaii 1-0, Rush 4-0 and Hawaii Heat 3-0.

Makoa Kapuniai of Maui Cobras ’09 heads upfield. Emily Ventura photo

The Cobras ’09 team comprises Ahari Gonzalez, Hinano Cua, Kekoa Andrade, Kekoa Davis, Jai Carbonell, La’i Abafo Green, Makela Storm, Makoa Kapuniai, Nalu Haili, Nico Valenzuela, Tui Akinaka and Ty Arakawa. The head coach is Anthony Ventura, and assistants are Lani Abafo, Brian Ventura and Brad Ventura.

The Maui Cobras ’07 boys team huddles after winning the championship. Jennifer Valenzuela photo

James Notarangelo of the Maui Cobras ’07 takes a corner kick. Jennifer Valenzuela photo