Farmers, Spartans eliminated from title contention

The Maui News

Maui Interscholastic League representatives Molokai High School and Seabury Hall both lost in the quarterfinal round of the HHSAA/Wally Yonamine Foundation Division II Baseball State Championship on Thursday at Vidinha Stadium in Lihue.

The MIL champion Farmers lost to fourth-seeded Waimea 20-5 in 5 innings in the nightcap, while Seabury fell to No. 2 Radford 11-1 in five innings earlier in the day.

After falling behind 5-1, Molokai (9-3) eventually drew within 7-5 after scoring three runs in the top of the fourth inning.

But Waimea (8-4-1) responded in the bottom half of the inning, exploding for 13 runs on nine hits with the help of four errors.

The Farmers will face Waipahu in a consolation game today at 1 p.m.

In an earlier quarterfinal, Seabury got its lone run of the game in the top of the third. Jacob Luther hit an RBI single to bring the Spartans within 2-1, but the Rams (11-2) broke the game open in the bottom half of the inning, scoring six runs.

Luther also tripled as part of a 2-for-2 day. Quintin Tanaka also went 2-for-2 for Seabury (8-4), which will face Konawaena in a consolation game today at 10:30 a.m.


Molokai 101 30– 5 3 6

Waimea 142 (13)x–20 17 3

Iokepa Pelekane, Kaimana Nakayama (2), Angelo Duvauchelle (4), Laysen Bush (4), Hezekiah Horner (4) and Horner. Max Ham, Kristian Cardejon (4) and Kanaan Ephan. W–Ham. L–Pelekane. 2B–Waimea: Kaikoa Alquiza, Tysson Unciano, Cory Soares. 3B–Alquiza.

Leading hitters–Waimea: Deiton Otoman 2-3, 2 runs, 2 RBIs; Alquiza 2-4, 4 runs, 2 RBIs; Unciano 2-3, 2 runs, RBI; Lacin Montemayor 1-2, 2 runs, RBI; Levi Snowden 2-4, 2 runs, 3 RBIs; Cardejon 4-4, 3 runs, RBI; Soares 2-3, 2 runs, RBI; Noa Aquino 2-4, run, RBI.


Seabury Hall 001 00– 1 4 5

Radford 206 21–11 12 0

Parker Almeida and Rafe Perrin. Richard Akana III and Lojenini Kabua. W–Akana. L–Almeida. 3B–Seabury Hall: Jacob Luther; Radford: Jerod Cyrus.

Leading hitters–Seabury Hall: Quintin Tanaka 2-2; Luther 2-2, RBI. Radford: Lukins 3-3, 2 runs; Shane Vogt 2-4, run, RBI; Daniel May 2 runs; Pinemua Espenesa 2 runs; Cyrus 2-3, run, 2 RBIs; Carter Ogino 2-3, run, 2 RBIs.