Lunas earn top seed in D-II, Bears are No. 4 in D-I for state football

The Maui News

Three-time defending state champion Lahainaluna High School received the No. 1 seed for the First Hawaiian Bank/HHSAA Division II Football State Championship in brackets released Saturday, and will host a semifinal on Nov. 23 at Sue Cooley Stadium.

The Lunas, who completed an 8-0 run through the Maui Interscholastic League last week, will face the winner of the Nov. 16 first-round match between Oahu Interscholastic Association runner-up Roosevelt and Big Island Interscholastic Federation champion Kamehameha Hawaii — the fourth-seeded Warriors host the Rough Riders in that play-in.

Kickoff for the Lunas’ semifinal is set for 7 p.m. The winner advances to the D-II state championship game on Nov. 29 at 1 p.m. at Aloha Stadium against the winner of No. 2 Kapaa vs. No. 3 Kaimuki — that game is set for 2 p.m. at Vidinha Stadium in Lihue on Nov. 23.

In the Division I tournament, MIL champion Baldwin (5-3) was seeded fourth and will face OIA runner-up Leilehua in the first round on Nov. 15 at 5:30 p.m. at War Memorial Stadium in Wailuku. The winner then travels to Hawaii island to take on BIIF champion and top seed Hilo in a semifinal at Wong Stadium on Nov. 23.

The other D-I semifinal pits No. 2 Moanalua — the OIA champion — against Interscholastic League of Honolulu champion and No. 3 seed Iolani on Nov. 23 at Na Menehune’s home field.

The Open Division — in which there is no MIL representative — gets started on Nov. 22 with semifinals at Aloha Stadium. No. 1 Saint Louis, the ILH champion, takes on Mililani and No. 2 Kahuku, the OIA champion, faces Campbell.


First Hawaiian Bank/HHSAA Football State Championships


First round • Saturday, Nov. 16

Roosevelt at No. 4 Kamehameha Hawaii, 7 p.m.

Semifinals • Saturday, Nov. 23

No. 3 Kaimuki vs. No. 2 Kapaa at Vidinha Stadium, 2 p.m

Roosevelt-Kamehameha Hawaii winner at Lahainaluna, 7 p.m.

Championship • Friday, Nov. 29

Semifinal winners at Aloha Stadium, 1 p.m.


First round • Friday, Nov. 15

No. 4 Baldwin vs. Leilehua at War Memorial Stadium, 5:30 p.m.

Semifinals • Saturday, Nov. 23

Baldwin-Leilehua winner vs. No. 1 Hilo at Wong Stadium, 7 p.m.

No. 3 Iolani at No. 2 Moanalua, 7 p.m.

Championship • Friday, Nov. 29

Semifinal winners at Aloha Stadium, 4 p.m.


Semifinals • Friday, Nov. 22

No. 2 Kahuku vs. Campbell at Aloha Stadium, 4 p.m.

No. 1 Saint Louis vs. Mililani at Aloha Stadium, 7 pm.

Championship • Friday, Nov. 29

Semifinal winners at Aloha Stadium, 7 p.m.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)