Maui Jim Maui Invitational announces field for 2022

The Maui News

The 2022 Maui Jim Maui Invitational men’s college basketball tournament will include Arkansas, Arizona, Cincinnati, Creighton, Louisville, Ohio State, San Diego State and Texas Tech, event organizers announced Thursday.

The 39th annual tournament is set for Nov. 21-23, 2022, at the Lahaina Civic Center.

“The Maui Jim Maui Invitational strives to bring the best college basketball teams and talent to the island of Maui and set the precedent for the rest of the season,” tournament Chairman Dave Odom said in a news release. “The 2022 field is no exception, and we could not be more excited to return to our home yet again at the Lahaina Civic Center and show these teams the magic of Maui.”

The 2020 event was moved from the Valley Isle to Asheville, N.C., due to COVID-19 concerns. The 2021 event, set for Nov. 22-24 at the LCC, includes Butler, host Chaminade, Houston, Notre Dame, Oregon, Saint Mary’s, Texas A&M and Wisconsin.

Four of the 2022 participants — Cincinnati, Louisville, Ohio State and Arkansas — are ranked in the top 35 all-time winningest programs, and two schools advanced to the second weekend of the 2021 NCAA Tournament, with Creighton making it to the Sweet 16 and Arkansas continuing to the Elite Eight.

Arkansas will be making its fourth appearance in the Maui Invitational, following the 1991, 2005 and 2013 tournaments.

The 2022 tournament will be Arizona’s eighth trip to Maui following their appearances in 1993, 1997, 2000, 2005, 2009, 2014 and 2018. Arizona holds a 14-8 record here, including championships in 2000 and 2014.

Cincinnati is making its second appearance here, having previously appeared in 2009.

Creighton, which owns 22 NCAA Tournament berths, will be making its first appearance here in 2022.

Louisville coach Chris Mack has an overall winning percentage of .687, ranking him 18th in the nation among active coaches. Prior to joining the Cardinals three seasons ago, Mack led Xavier to eight NCAA Tournaments during his nine years with the Musketeers. This will be Louisville’s fourth appearance here, following the 1989, 2000 and 2004 tournaments.

The Buckeyes have earned 30 NCAA Tournament berths with 10 Final Four appearances and one national championship, in 1960. Ohio State will make its fourth appearance at the Maui Invitational (1988, 1993, 2003).

San Diego State will make its fifth appearance here, following participation in the 1989, 2003, 2014 and 2018.

Texas Tech has earned 18 NCAA Tournament berths, including a run to the 2019 championship game against Virginia and the second round this season. The Red Raiders will be making their inaugural appearance here in 2022.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper?


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today