Big West adding CS Bakersfield, UC San Diego

IRVINE, Calif. (AP) — Cal State Bakersfield and UC San Diego will join the Big West Conference in 2020, with Bakersfield immediately becoming a member and UC San Diego going through a four-year reclassification to Division I before becoming an official member in 2024.

League commissioner Dennis Farrell said Monday that with the Big West marking its 50th anniversary in 2018-19, the expansion to 11 members comes at a fitting time.

CSU Bakersfield moved to Division I in 2010, with the men’s basketball team earning a berth in the 2016 NCAA Tournament and the NIT last season while competing in the Western Athletic Conference.

UC San Diego moved to Division II in 2000-01.

Hawaii is a member of the Big West in most sports excluding football. Other members are Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Northridge, Long Beach State, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UC Riverside and UC Santa Barbara.