Leone named SBA county business owner of the year

The Maui News

Angela Leone of Maui Leones LLC was named Maui County small business owner of the year for 2019, a top honor in the 32nd annual Small Business Administration Small Business Awards for Hawaii.

Leone, who operates as Coconut Condos, will be recognized at a gathering from 3 to 6:30 p.m. May 3 at the Hawaii Prince Hotel in Waikiki. The event precedes National Small Business Week from May 5 to 10 and honors 29 Hawaii award winners.

Ross and Anna Scott of Sunshine Helicopters on Maui were honored with the 2019 SBA Entrepreneurial Success Award for Hawaii. It is presented to individuals who own and operate a business that started as a small enterprise and, with SBA assistance, grew to a much larger business entity that now exceeds the size classification of a small business.

Leslie Wilkins, president and CEO of the Maui Economic Development Board, was named state Small Business Advocate for Women in Business.

Ray Michaels of Maui Plumbing captured the SBA Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award for Maui County. The award is presented to individuals who have shown the likelihood of success during a minimum of three years of operation and ownership of a small business before reaching the age of 35.

Rolf Klein, CEO, and Alvin Bongolan, COO, of Hawaii Energy Systems of Aiea, Oahu, have been selected as the 2019 Small Business Persons of the Year for Hawaii by the SBA Hawaii District Office. Hawaii Energy Systems will represent the state in Washington, D.C., at the celebration of National Small Business Week, beginning May 5.

For more information on Small Business Week and SBA Awards presentations, contact the SBA Hawaii District Office by email at hawaiigeneral@sba.gov or by phone (808) 541-2990.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper?


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today