More repeat races in county on deck

Stacy Crivello pulls papers to run for her old council seat

STACY HELM CRIVELLO – Seeks Molokai seat again

Former Maui County Council member Stacy Helm Crivello, who lost her Molokai residency seat to newcomer Keani Rawlins-Fernandez in 2018, has pulled papers to run again for her old seat.

Crivello took out papers Friday while Rawlins-Fernandez pulled papers Thursday, according to online records from the State Office of Elections, which is updated every Friday afternoon.

In the 2018 general election, Rawlins-Fernandez unseated the incumbent Crivello with 22,134 votes, or 43.7 percent, to 20,643 votes, or 40.8 percent — the closest council race of the night.

Crivello, who had been on the council since 2013, said on election night that she still had a lot to do on her “bucket list” on the council.

Meanwhile, the race for the Lanai council residency seat is filling up with Matthew Mano and Albert De Jetley officially filing to run. Longtime Council Member Riki Hokama will vacate the seat due to term limits.

Gabe Johnson, who unsuccessfully challenged Hokama in the 2018 election, pulled papers Feb. 13 but had not yet filed as of Friday.

Four incumbent council members have also pulled papers signaling an intent to run again — Shane Sinenci, Tasha Kama, Mike Molina and Yuki Lei Sugimura. Incumbent Tamara Paltin has already filed papers to officially defend her West Maui residency seat.

Claire Kamalu Carroll also pulled papers earlier this month to run again for the East Maui seat against Sinenci, while Deb Kaiwi has pulled papers to again challenge Kama for the Kahului residency seat. None of the four have filed yet.

In the state House, incumbents Troy Hashimoto of District 8 (Kahakuloa, Waihee, Waiehu, Puuohala, Wailuku and Waikapu) and Tina Wildberger of District 11 (Kihei, Wailea and Makena) have both pulled papers. Wailuku resident Christy Kajiwara Gusman has pulled papers to run against Hashimoto. None have yet filed.

Molokai activist Walter Ritte also has announced his intent to challenge Rep. Lynn DeCoite for her District 13 seat that covers Molokai, Lanai and East Maui. Ritte pulled papers Wednesday; DeCoite has not yet.

Ten candidates, including one from Maui, have pulled papers in an increasingly crowded race for U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard’s seat in Congress. She has announced she will not run again as she continues a long-shot campaign for president.

Her 2nd Congressional District covers Maui, Hawaii island and Kauai counties as well as rural and suburban areas of Oahu beyond Honolulu.

Brian Evans, a Democrat from Kihei, filed papers Wednesday to run for Gabbard’s old seat.

The other Democratic candidates who pulled papers are: David Cornejo of Kailua, Oahu; Noelle Famera of Honolulu; state Sen. Kai Kahele of Hilo and Ryan Meza of Kailua-Kona.

Republicans are Bart Gottschalk of Ocean View, Hawaii island; Raymond Quel of Wahiawa, Oahu; Robert “Steve” Rousseau of Kailua-Kona and Taylor Smith of Honolulu.

Libertarian Michelle Rose Tippens of Kapolei, Oahu, has also pulled papers. An earlier Office of Elections report indicated Tippens had a Hilo address.

Candidates were allowed to start pulling papers Feb. 3; they have until June 2 to file.

* Melissa Tanji can be reached at mtanji@mauinews.com.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper?


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today