Updated 10:16 p.m.: Johnson leading council Lanai residency seat after first printout

Three Maui County Council incumbents maintained their positions after the second printout at about 10 p.m. Saturday, and Gabe Johnson holds the lead in the open Lanai residency seat.

Johnson polled 29.8 percent, 12,136 votes, compared to Alberta De Jetley, 24.7 percent, 10,086, and Matthew Mano, 20.4 percent, 8,302 votes.

Johnson, who has run against incumbent Council Member Riki Hokama the last two elections, said that it “sounds to me that my message is ringing through.”

“Sounds to me like I have momentum moving forward, and I will carry that momentum going into the council and get work done for the people, that’s what really matters,” he said Saturday night.

Still confident she’ll advance into the general election, Lanai resident De Jetley said she was surprised with Johnson’s lead at the first print out, but “the night is not over.”

Gabe Johnson

“Both Gabe and Matt haven’t been very visible on Maui whereas I’ve been very visible on Maui,” she said from her home in Lanai. “It’s too soon to say what will happen.”

Mano, who is also running for the open seat being vacated by Hokama due to term limits, said his candidacy and election night has “been pretty good” despite the COVID-19 pandemic pushing virtual campaigns and mail-in voting systems. 

“There’s a lot of voters this year, I was surprised to see the numbers,” he said. “We’ll see what happens after set three.”

Tamara Paltin garnered 48.3 percent with 19,713 votes for the West Maui residency seat. She led Rick Nava with 25.7 percent, 10,465 votes, and Sne Patel, 8.6 percent, 3,507 votes.

In the Kahului residency seat, Tasha Kama led with 36 percent, 14,671 votes, followed by Carol Lee Kamekona, 24.3 percent, 9,900, and Deb Kaiwi, 19.1 percent, 7,772.

Matthew Mano

Mike Molina held a commanding lead in the Makawao-Haiku-Paia race with 59.0 percent, 24,070 votes. Aja Eyre was second with 20.4 percent, 8,315 votes, and Laurent Zahnd, third with 4.2 percent of the vote, 1,700.

The top two vote-getters will move on to the general election on Nov. 3.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)