Contestants to participate in pageants

Three teen scholars will represent Maui in the 2014 Miss Hawaii’s Outstanding Scholarship Competition in Honolulu on Saturday at the Hawaii Convention Center.

The contestants are Jessica Griffiths (Miss Valley Isle’s Outstanding Teen 2014), Michaela Owens (Miss Na Hawai’iki’s Outstanding Teen 2014), and Joahnnalee Ucol (Miss Haleakala’s Outstanding Teen 2014).

The Miss Hawaii Outstanding Teen Scholarship Pageant is a preliminary to the Miss America Outstanding Teen Scholarship Program, a sister scholarship pageant of the Miss America Scholarship Program. Maui had three former Miss Hawaii Outstanding Teen winners: Napua Salbedo in 2009, Lena Merrill in 2010 and Hulali Brown in 2012.

In addition to the above competition, three Miss Maui scholars will compete in the 2014 Miss Hawai’i Scholarship Competition on June 7 at the Hawaii’s Convention Center in Honolulu. They are Lei U’i Kaholokula (Miss Na Hawai’iki 2014), Sofia Godinez-Miller (Miss Maui 2014) and Celina Macadangdang-Hayashi (Miss Valley Isle 2014). The competition will be aired live on OC16 that evening at 7.

The Miss Maui and Miss Hawaii Scholarship Program are preliminaries to the Miss America Scholarship Program.