Hayashi, Calip turn in 62 to grab lead at Kaanapali Classic Pro Pro

Justin Newsome celebrates after chipping in for birdie on the par-3 15th hole Saturday during the first round of the Kaanapali Classic Pro Pro Championship at the Royal Kaanapali Course. -- KAANAPALI GOLF COURSES photo

The team of Kevin Hayashi and Nainoa Calip carded a 9-under-par 62 to take a one-shot lead after the first round of the Kaanapali Classic Pro Pro Championship on Saturday at the Royal Kaanapali Course.

The tournament — which has a two-person better-ball format — concludes today with the final 18 holes.

Hayashi is a past champion of this event — the Hilo golfer won in 2015 with Kevin Carll. Hayashi and Calip had 10 birdies and just one bogey.

Oahu’s Jared Sawada and Jason Jakovac were in second place after their 63, while the teams of James Horton and Justin Newsome of Maui, and Alex Ching and Todd Rego of Oahu were tied for third at 64.

Five more teams were just one more shot back.

Kevin Hayashi tees off on the sixth hole. -- KAANAPALI GOLF COURSES photo



Saturday’s First-Round Leaders

At Royal Kaanpali Course

Kevin Hayashi, Nainoa Calip 62

Jared Sawada, Jason Jakovac 63

James Horton, Justin Newsome 64

Alex Ching, Todd Rego 64

Eddie Lee, Garrett Okamura 65

Hunter Larson, Patrick Clary 65

Jeffrey Ingman, Juan Rodriguez 65

Andre Bedard, Christopher Armanini 65

Cassy Isagawa, Jake Grodzinsky 65

Eliot Gouveia, Eric Dugas 66

Chris Shimomura, Kevin Shimomura 66

Dawn Kaneshiro, Jonathan Galarita 67

Corey Kozuma, Ryan Nagata 68

Jay Taise, Scott Bridges 68

Christopher Keiter, Lee Kagawa 68

Shane Hoshino, Spencer Shishido 68

Reece Alnas, Shaun Steile 69

Nick Ruiz, Roscoe Branch 70

Marcus Judge, Michael Taylor 70

Ryan Cancino, Scott Reinhart 70

Doug Bohn, Haruyasu Hongo 70

David Havens, Scott Carroll 71

Brian Okumura, Christopher Black 72

Chad Dusenberry, Thomas Freestone 73

Lee Sakugawa, Rohn Stark 73

Joe Wood, Kieran Collins 74

Darren Sayre, Duane Otte 74

Mark Seki, Steven Murphy 74

Caitlyn Villatora, Dillion Solcwisch 75

Sutee Nitakorn, TJ Figueroa 76

James Triche, Ronald Huffman 76

Chad McDade, Claude Brousseau 78

Leander Hathaway, Richard Castillo 82


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)